2003-10-03

I heart UK!

So I watched that new show, Coupling. I don't like it much. The only thing I like about it is Jane, the crazy slutty one, because the actress playing her has great timing and delivery. She reminds me of Jennifer Tilly- who I think is funnier than she gets credit for. Anyway, I watch it- I laugh mildly and marvel at how annoying I find Sally and Jeff. Then I fume at the knowledge that I forgot to turn my TV on until 9:30. I miss Will and Grace and Scrubs, but just happen to tune in just in time for this! Argh.

Soon, it's over. And I notice that my Grandpop isn't around. So I creep into the living room to check out the satellite dish. I flick through until I come upon BBC America. And guess what's on? The same exact episode that I'd just seen. Except everyone is British and it doesn't suck (no coincidence). I had found the fabled UK version of Coupling that I'd been deprived of all this time. Now I'm a little hooked. I want BBC all the time, but I can't have that.

Honestly, I don't see why Grandpop bothers with a satellite dish when he only watches Turner Classic Movies and AMC. Why can't he get regular house cable (which is cheaper) so we all can partake of the joys of BBC. All of us, being me and him, though. So that doean't qualify as an "all."

What the hell was my point?

Oh, yeah. Britain = way better entertainment than the crap we get here. And I've always secretly (or not so secretly) wanted to be British.

****************************************

Krazy K called me about eight times today. By the end, I was running out of excuses to get off and finally said I ran out of cigarettes and needed to go to the store. She needs to find friends that aren't me.

prev = next