2004-01-06

Insomniacs and TV mediocrity- How much suck is too much suck?

I left a tape in for CBS tonight. Been watching "Everyone Loves Raymond" in reruns and wanted to catch the new version. I just love Peter Boyle and Doris Roberts. I also looooove Brad Garret. Not that I'm really attracted. But he has a deep voice and he's really tall. If I was ten years older, you better belive I'd be hittin that... or something.

Anyway, I figured it would come on at eight. My tape had been busy with the "American Idol" specials from last Thursday and the seven to ten from Fox on Sunday (girl needs her cartoons). I hadn't watched it yet and I had no other tapes. (See, I'm making some people tapes of French and Saunders and MST3K- and yes, it is necessary).

But my lonely tape had an hour left on it and I had work to get to. So I set the timer for eight to nine. I spent my evening working my way through the tape and eating chips and salsa and playing spider solitaire and telling myself it would be much more productive to do sit-ups while I watched, but I'm just so stubborn. I hardly listen to me.

I was looking forward to polsihing my tape off with "Everybody Loves Raymond." But it wasn't on at eight. It was on at nine. I was left with the insipid "Yes, Dear" and the horrifying "Still Standing." This hurts. Because I'm not tired yet and there's nothing but infomercials on TV at 3 in the morning and I've watched all my MST3K episodes. Twice! I hate Monday night!!!! I could have taped "Average Joe, Hawaii." Even that's better than what I did tape!

Oh, God. I'm sorry. That was uncalled for. I'm sure "Average Joe" is worse.

Just thought I'd come and complain here and see if that made me tired. Checking.... Uh, nope. They say every MST3K should be watched 3 times. I wonder if they mean it. I wonder who they are. They better be right. It doesn't look like April's getting much sleep tonight either.

prev = next