2006-02-17

In Denver...

Have finally got around to posting about Denver.

Before that, other news: I have a myspace. It's myspace.com/aprilwalsh (creative, ain't I?). I've decided I'll post stuff there as well, but the majority of my stuff goes here. Why? Because I'm a stick in the mud and am used to this old place.

Anyway, Denver:

I'd actually already auditioned in San Francisco. But it was just one cold, wet day there with one cold little rejection. Everyone thought I was crazy when I said I was going again to Denver. But there were a few behind it.

I'd done "It's Oh So Quiet" at karaoke. It was one that people actually requested I do, despite the fact that it's usually a country crowd there. If it's a crowd-pleaser there, then it's a crowd-pleaser anywhere, I figured. I'd wear my favorite dress and get all tricked up like a depression-era taxi dancer. After that, I'd be done. I figured that, if I don't stand out after that, then I just don't stand out. Then I'd give up.

It was a 23 hour bus ride. Babies cried. One pissy old guy got kicked off. I put curlers in my hair in the bathroom at a rest stop (and got strange looks from then on). But I got to Denver by ten pm.

At the stadium, I got my wristband and unrolled my sleeping bag. It's hard to sleep on curlers. It's even harder in a sleeping bag on the ground on a cold night in air that's thinner than what you're used to while people around won't just stop singing and go to sleep.

At any rate, it kind of stunk. At that point, I was wondering why I went through all the trouble just for somethng that could have me rejected again. I did not sleep well.

We were all shooed out at six am by the cattle rustlers they hired. I put my dress on in a port-a potty and did my make-up in line. The hair was still in curlers under a scarf. I hid every time a camera came near.

By the time I auditioned, my feet were swollen from walking around in heels all day. It was a painful walk. But I pasted that smile on. When I got to the tent, I said I was doing Bjork (I know it's Hutton, but Bjork gets a better reaction). The guy judging me: "Really?"
Yes, really. It was pretty much what you saw in the audition (except they cut the quiet bits). I was floored when they gave me my ticket.

When I left, I had nowhere to stay. I'd not considered the reality of making it in. I had hands full of sleeping bag and suitcase. We couldn't stay in the stadium and I didn't know the area at all. Luckily, a lady on security was just getting off. She knew a cheap place up the street (very cheap, forty-two a night) and even gave me a ride there. I forget her name, but I'll never forget how awesome she was.

The next call was about the same. Got the same "Really?" reaction to doing Bjork. And was shocked to get in.

On the bus ride back, the paranoia set in. I started thinking they put me through as a joke. You know, one of the crazies. I was wondering if my Bjork was too cheesey (as if there's such a thing). But I forgot about it. It's a very me kind of song and I wasn't going to change a thing.

My aunt Lisa helped me to get a plane ride for the judges' rounds. I was more prepared that time. I made sure I had cash for a shuttle and for food and got my room ahead of time, so I could have a whole day to chill there before auditioning.

I spent that day drinking excess amounts of tea from a thermos and overdoing on airborne and EmergenC (I was sick).

The night before auditions, I could not sleep. I ordered my wake-up call and tried breathing deep, but I just couldn't relax (the curlers didn't help). In retrospect, I think somebody up there (Grandpop?) was looking out for me. My wake-up call never came. My sleeplessness, for once, came in handy (well, except for how I was almost dead on my feet all day).

I got to the auditions at six am. I was actually the first contestant there. I spent some time chatting with the security people (they were rooting for me) and waited for others to show.

I met Heather Cox there. She came up asked me if I was Apeygirl? Then I saw she was the same girl I'd chatted with on email (we "met" on the Idol boards). Spent a lot of the day talking to her and her parents (great people) and warming up my voice.

Throughout the wait, the cameras went around. They'd interview and ask questions. What did I do for the cameras that you didn't see?

Impersonations- Marge Simpson, Cartman singing "Come Sail Away," Judy's "Man that Got Away" and some tasteless Liza Minelli bits. The crowd laughed. Wish they'd shown it on TV. My Liza's crazy.

I cracked lots of jokes and drank some honey (you saw that) and kept requesting to be filmed in Cinemascope (no one listened).

Then it was my turn. What happened then?

I'm tired. More on that tomorrow.

prev = next