2006-06-05

Where Celebrities Are Sparse- Idol finale, part the third

I was finally feeling silly enough to put up a myspace music page. I, feeling a complete fraud, clicked "artist sign-up" and BAM... I have one. Put up some song. If you feel like visiting it's myspace.com/aprilsings and has a South Park April on it. Why? Cause I wanted it to.

Since last writing, I've decided to find a new graveyard job. As my current job(s) are dwindling and auditions are becoming more rare. I will spend the summer staying up all night (wherever I end up doing so) and contemplating facing my stand-up demons again (yeah... We'lll see if that happens).

Some of you may remember my time at The Scariest Denny's Ever To Be Vandalized By Skinheads (only because I whined about it in every entry back then). This will be different. Why? Because it won't be in Lake Forest (the scariest city in lower Orange County).

Well... Lake Forest isn't all bad. It does have Prime Time, my own personal Cheers (karaoke almost nightly. Who can resist?). And my own personal Cheers does boast a guy I have a wee unrequited crush on. It's my first crush in a while, really. It's come on very gradually. Like all crushes, it will end up as nothing. Why? Because I prefer the delicious pain of nursing the crush to the unsavory humiliation of acting on it. In other words, I'm a total chicken.

Anyway, on with the hijinks!!!

When Bobby and I entered the theater, I immediately separated from him to ask the guards if we were allowed to venture outside and smoke. We weren't. Bah! If I'd known that, I would have taken a few minutes off my life before going in. Really. They should have a sign or something.

At any rate, I went for the bar to get a free Diet Coke --- which they won't give you in the bottle. I hate it in a glas. It gets flat too fast. I decided to have a chardonnay instead. Not free, but more enjoyable in its way. Little did I know, it would be the first... of many..........................................................................................................................................

Sorry. Had to be ominous for a sec. Anyway...

Bobby and I ran around for the hour, together or separately. We met up periodically to say what celebs we saw and where. At one point, I saw what I thought was Bucky. I said Hi, expecting a mini-reunion. What I got was a curt hello and a walk-away. I was kind miffed there. Then I remembered that he had a twin that I'd never met. I put my fire away... I meant to say ire. But I guess fire works, too. Hmmm... Anyway, when I told Bobby I'd seen Ricki Lake, we both decided we HAD to find her. And we did. She remembered us! Even me! She said she and her family were fiends about the show. I babbled on about how I auditioned to be Tracy in the new Hairspray. She asked how I did. I told her (if you secretly want someone under 5 feet, you really should say so, New Line). She asked who got it. I told her the Shannon Durig rumors were the last I'd heard. She laughed and said "Well, it was good to be the first." I gushed a little about how seeing a heavy gal in a positive role really helped me growing up (well, mostly. I'm obviously not over my fat demons just yet). We parted.

I saw Lisa Rinna and... yeah. Maybe I wasn't looking close enough, but I didn't see any others that I remember.

Bobby and I scrambled to the second mezzanine and to our seats. Turned out we were seated right next to Stevie and her sister and Ayla and her mother. Down the aisle were Patrick Hall and Will Makar. Did I mention I talked to will and his lovely sister? Anne? I think? Anyway, I did.

I craned my neck, searching for a sign of some of my other pals. But there was no Heather or Kinnik. I sighed and sat for the show. It went by without much drama from me. There was the moment when Meatloaf appeared and I cursed loudly, shocking Stevie and her sister (they're very religious) and several others around me. I'm so naughty.

I whispered and babbled to Stevie and Bobby during the show, too. I guess I kind of forgot I wasn't watching it on TV for a sec. And, as some of you know, my ADHD makes it hard for me to sit quietly and pay attention. I need a grip on that shiz.

When it was all over, we found our way out. I saw Justin Guarini. I confessed to him that I was a Philly Girl and told hom of our common acquaintance, Brianna Taylor. SWhe was top 44 with me this season (we hang. She's awesome) and he knows her from school... or something.

Anyway, I immediately confessed my cigarette need to Bobby. He said to go ahead and he'd meet me. We just forgot to say where... and I had his cell phone and wallet in my purse, something both of us forgot.

How were we to know? How were we ever to know?

Finishing this bitch later.

prev = next