2003-11-24

Apologies, recaps, and tales of drunken aunts. Vacay.... part the second.

Sorry, my two readers. I haven't written in a while. I was having internet problems. I had these problems for a week. I couldn't get on at all. Now, I have a wireless modem. I need to restart once in a while to get the thing going. I must have restarted a thousand times. A week went by and the thing wouldn't give. I just couldn't figure it out. I wasn't about to tell anyone about it. I mean, I can't afford to have a geek come in and fix it. Geeks ask for money.... or sex. And I refuse to part with my money.

Anyway, I agonized over the whole thing. I played more solitaire than is healthy. I watched more TV than ever. I think I did three times the loafing I normally did just making up for the loafing I was missing. I longed for the days when I could go to Cinescape and see what movies I could possibly look forward to in three years. I moaned over the loss of my beloved Television Without Pity. I watched more Noggin then anyone over fifteen should.

Then I looked down and saw my modem sitting on the ground. There was no cord in it. It was unhokked the whole time. In short, I am a doofus.

****************************************

I thought now would be a great time to tie up some loose ends and finish recapping my vacay. So....

The first days of vacay were spent arguing with my sister over who got my dad's spare car (the one that isn't a stick). She'd totaled hers and I, of course, had nothing to drive. We haggled and traded and it was stressful. I hate compromise. Why can't everything go exactly how I want it to?

The next big event was a wedding. My cousin, Genevieve, got married and I sang some crap at the wedding and a good time was had by all. Especially Aunt Mimi and Aunt Gigi. They took home the award for Most Drunken, Schmoopy Behavior. They hugged and kissed and complimented everyone. Aunt Mimi told me over and over how glad she was I was following my dreams. Aunt Gigi called me Baby Precious a couple million times (my childhood nickname. La Nikki got stuck with Miss Poopypants. To be fair, I was the latest potty trainer. So I think it wasn't a good tag on her. Maybe it was meant as an endearment. I used to call my nephew, Kevin, Poopyhead. And I always tell him he smells like fresh poop). Anyway, I have no idea what pains our Drunken Duo inflicted on the rest of the wedding guests. I can only hope they are properly ashamed of their behavior. It wasn't even a true drunken binge. They didn't break anything or storm out of anywhere or hit anyone or even insist on driving home. I mean, if you're going to get drunk, at least do it properly.

I spent some quality time with Hometown as well. We both whined about our lives. Turns out neither of us are satisfied with them. I must say Hometown is much more grown-up then I am. I mean, she has a house and a family. I feel like I'm perpetually nineteen. I keep forgetting that poeple my age can be wives and parents and homeowners. And that they don't watch Sesame Street when there are no kids around. Cause I do... not. Nope.

I also had some time with Lisa-Lisa. She's newly single now. We ate Chinese and I made her watch X-files too. There was lots of giggling involved. Lisa-Lisa inspires a gigglesome (I sort of like that word) time whenever we hang.

Okay. That's all for now. Will be back tomorrow with the rest.

I promise.

And don't give me that look.

No, I don't always say that.

If I don't come back, you can pelt me with chocolate if you want.

And I'll try not to enjoy it.

prev = next