2003-11-30

Why Old Disney is eighty-six billion times better than New Disney- an ongoing study in regression.

Continuing with B.J. style bgeginning. Just to see if knowing I have to write my weight and what I eat and what I do with my day will urge me to improve these things

Weight: 176- but I am in a womanly way today, if you get my drift.

What I ate: Oatmeal- without milk, 1 piece of peppermint bark, a McChicken Sandwich and fries, 4 diet cokes and no water- yet.

What I've done: went to mass, helped Father load truck, partially cleaned Uncle's house, read Anne of Green Gables (shut up. It was sitting there. I was in the mood for light, corny crap. Sue me. Actually, I don't even want to read it much- I'd rather rent the miniseries and watch it. There's some corny things they wisely left out when they did the miniseries).

That's all I've actually done. I don't know if I have anything else to say right now... No, I don't. Maybe tomorrow.

WAIT! One thing- The original Parent Trap rocks eighty times more than the sequel. I mean, yeah, Brian Keith isn't my ideal man, but the chemistry between him and Maureen O'Hara is amazing. You'd think seasoned actors like Dennis Quaid and Natasha Richardson would have done a better job, but they just didn't bring the romance to the table, you know? In the first one, there's all these fun arguments and they keep yelling at each other. I find that more fun and, strangely, even more romantic than Richardson and Quaid looking moonily at each other and confessing that they almost didn't leave. Also, it seemed unrealistic that two such sensitive dishraggy people would be heartless enough to split up twins and never tell them the other exists (I don't even want to go into the morality of that). I mean, Maureen and Brian were the angry types (which explains both why the marriage didn't work when they were young and hotheaded and why they'd do something so irrational). I am making sense, here. Just follow me. Since the original movie has such great romantic tension and so many amazing character actors (Do you notice everyone is a bit younger and more attractive in the sequel? New Hollywood doesn't hold a candle to Old Hollywood as far as great character actors go) - with all these things in its favor, we can overlook the fact that a Bostonian lady (with a pronounced Irish accent) and a California guy had two British kids. Disney pulled that crap in alot of movies, anyhow. We can even overlook Haley's performance of "Let's get together" with herself. It's not like she didn't HAVE to do it. She was under contract.

I guess I like Old Disney better than New Disney. New Disney movies are strictly kids' stuff. There's nothing in it for someone over 11 to enjoy. Old Disney had something for everyone, usually.

And even though Haley could not pull off an American accent, she did a pretty good job. She seems so natural as an actress. She acts like a kid does- fidgetty and awkward. God knows I was.

Maybe I should apologize for all of the above. I mean, I'm probably the only girl I know that would buy The Parent Trap on DVD and watch it three times then write a mini essay in praise of it. Go ahead, people. Scoff at my movie. But rent the original and the sequel and tell me which is better. I dare you. Cause I swear I'm right about everything.

prev = next