2004-03-01

Why do the Oscars mean so much to a girl with no social life. The world may never know.

I mostly got what I want out of The Oscars... mostly.

I was mainly rooting for Annie Lennox on best song because I love her and she's wonderful and I want her to be my mom... or aunt. I swear, I'd even take second cousin. But the other part of me was really rooting for "Kiss at the End of the Rainbow." Because, for me, anything that those Second City grads touch turns to the purest gold. And it's high time they got some rec.

Hey, did I just make up some slang? Do you think that could replace props as the one-syllable hip speak for recognition? No? Okay.

But it was enough for me that the song was nominated (being a parody of folky, schmoopy love songs). And then it was even more than enough that I got my wish and the two of them performed it.

And then... when they did it in character... Broke. My. Throat. With. Squealing.

I actually did more than my (or even ten girls') share of squealing tonight. I don't know why I get so hyped on Oscar Night. I don't feel even half so invested in the globes.

What I loved:

LOTR!!!! Swept it all up!!! Eeeeeeeeeeee!!!!

Billy Boyd! Billeeeeeeeeeeee! (That's a direct quote from me)

Jack Black! Oh, my God! He's my boyfriend! He's soooo my boyfriend! (Another direct quote) If I, indeed, had any doubts that Jack was my boyfriend, they have all been erased. It's just... We hadn't seen each other in a while. And I was starting to wonder what I saw in him, really. But tonight... let's just say the magic is still there.

Will Ferell. The way he said "Sting" in just the way I think it. All breathy and confused, wondering why I have these feelings for a man older than my father- especially when I promised Jack Black I'd be faithful this time around. Or maybe I'm transferring. It doesn't always follow that everyone has the same conflicted lust for Sting that I do. But does he just look hotter as he ages, or what?

Angelina Jolie's dress. If I could pull it off, I'd wear it all day for every occasion and even to bed.

Actually, all the dresses (excepting Uma and Diane Keaton) were fabulous. Class all the way. Love it.

That's not all that kept me squealing like an N-synch fan. But it's all I can think of now.

Hated:

Sean Penn winning. Should have been Johnny (not only because he's dreamy, but because he got here the hard way) or Bill (because Bill deserves to win stuff- in general). I'm just so sick of Dramas winning everything. I don't see them as more important than comedies. Comedy does more for us than drama. Comedy got people through the depression. Comedy actually does more to forward any society taboo than anything. Case in point: Will and Grace. It has done more for gay man than... anything. I don't want to get too thinky. It's Oscar night. I want to keep my happy buzz.

But it's not like dramas have the infinite rewatchability of a comedy. At all. How many times will you watch Mystic River? If at all.

Nobody named Buddy should ever die. That goes for both of them.

Ann Miller? I didn't hear that.

Hume Cronyn? I should have been all over that considering my undying love for both him and the late Jessica Tandy.

Anyway, the whole night met my expectations. The main event, for me, was Eugene and Catherine- and Annie Lennox, really. But LOTR mopping up every, single thing they were nominated for. That was a very unexpected and pleasant surprise. I'm a nerd and an escapist at heart. So I love when fantasy wins out. I hate people who consider themselves too old or cool to watch movies in the fantasy genre. And people who say a twenty-six-year-old shouldn't watch Spongebob. Go get your AARP card and leave me alone. I have some Harry Potter to read... for the fifth time.

Yeah. I definitely need a more active social life.

And by social life I mean love life.

And by love life I mean sex life.

And by sex life I mean chocolate.

prev = next