2004-04-20

Romance, Shmomance

I've just watched Sleepless in Seattle for the billionth time. That makes me so sad. I overwatch the movies I enjoy. Then I can't watch them for a while. Then I watch them again and repeat my cycle. I think the point is that I am pathetic. If you saw how many times I rewound the ending. I think that movie is the only one that makes the simple act of two hands joining so damned romantic. It has the same effect as the perfect movie kiss. I watch a lot of romantic comedies. My appetite for them is even more voracious than my appetite for Sci-fi/fantasy/horror.

I just love a nice, happy, sappy love story. Of course, I get weepy at the end. I get weepy at anything. I get weepy at that Fannie May commercial where the mom says, "It's my first backyard, too." Boo-hoo. Like a preteen at a boy band concert. I'm trying to decide if my weepiness is a depression sort of weepiness or just borne of the fact that I'm a natural weeper.

At any rate, there's something abnormal about my overwatching of certain movies. I can give you ten romantic movies off the top of my head that I've watched tapes into dust on:

Sleepless in Seattle

When Harry Met Sally

Practical Magic

Some Kind of Wonderful

Never Been Kissed

Marty

Somewhere in time

The Lady Eve

Bridget Jones' Diary

Gone With the Wind

I think Pretty in Pink could make the list except for the fact that she doesn't get with Ducky. It was written that way originally, but Molly Ringwald complained or something. Stupid Molly.

I wonder if I'd be so crazy on movies if I had a boyfriend. I wonder if I'd have a boyfriend if I wasn't so crazy on movies. Either way, these movies replace that need for the romance that doesn't seem to be in my life. It's possible that romance doesn't really exist and the reason I haven't found it is because my expectations are way too high.

My head is hurty.

prev = next