2004-06-09

I am a giant child. Want to make something out of it?

I sometimes get a lot of heat from my family about.... pretty much everything. You'd think the fact that I'm twenty-six would give me some relief from it. Not so. Maybe it's the Irish in them. Maybe it's the Catholic in them. Maybe both. As it is, I put up with it. Why? Because I'm a family oriented kind of girl. I need to be in this crazy mix or I feel lost. But there are times when I want to scream about it. If I inform them that I am twenty-six and past the time when they should be correcting me, they say I don't act like it.

They diss everything I say because they don't think I dress like an adult (jeans, shirts, sneakers. This is so standard among my generation. I don't get it). Also, they don't like the fact that I watch cartoons or kid's movies- sometimes when kids aren't around. Or mostly when kids aren't around. To them, I have this to say:

The Simpsons is not FOR children.

And I have a sneaking suspicion that Spongebob isn't either.

Mystery Science Theater may feature talking robot puppets, but it is way out of a kid's grasp.

The muppets are a part of my childhood that I REFUSE to let go of.

Why is it such a crime that I loved Babe? Shrek 2 is way funnier when you understand exactly what the joke is. The new Peter Pan is full of themes too sad and complicated for those who have not grown up to fully grasp. These things aren't written by children. The ones who create them don't believe they are writing below themselves. And I don't either. I'm just getting tired of being made to feel low for something that I usually feel proud of. I'm not too cool or grown-up for certain things. My inner child is alive and well. And I'm proud of her.

prev = next