2006-08-23

My boyfriend's back

My TV obsession is, much like every late August, hitting me hard. This is the first stage. This is the part where I start blindly obsessing about ahows I haven't yet seen and, of course, squeal like a piggy over my old loves coming back.

I'd say The Office tops the list right now. It's followed closely by My Name is Earl. Lost would be nearer the top (being the show that has managed to rope me in X-files style, but it won't be back till October. Your Loss, Lost. Then there's Medium, Scrubs, Simpsons, Family Guy. All those wonderful things that keep me from having an active social life.

I'm both excited and stressed about the new shows coming up. At the top is this ABC one called Ugly Betty starring America Ferrara (who I just can't help loving). She ends up getting hired as an assistant to some fashion guy by his father because she's soemone he won't sleep with (or will he?). I don't know. Just love a show where body image and the BBWs are in the foreground instead of relegated to sidekick status.

Does anyone else kind of miss The Parkers? I do.

Then there's Twenty Good Years with John Lithgow and Jeffrey Tambor. I love the both of them so madly that I can't stand the idea of them failing. Please, boys? Don't suck?

Then there's 30 rock and Studio 60... I just don't know. Two different shows on the same network skewering shows and networks... I don't know. But I'll give a little watch. Why not?

I'm a little stressed as well, though. What if one of these new shows conflicts with one of my old shows? I don't have a Tivo yet. What'll I do?

And why is this the thing I stress over of all things worth stressing over?

Eh, who cares? TV! Whoooooo!

prev = next