2007-04-16

Blogs and the silly girls who never write in them.

I know it's been almost years, but here I am again.

First I got busy with getting acting work, then I got busy with auditioning for (but not getting) acting work, then I got busy with moping about that last.

But I'm going to attempt to be proactive again. And I think keeping up with a blog and a myspace is as good a way as any to examine your day or week or month. In this case, year.

So let's play catch-up just to get us back on track. What did I do in 2006? Keep in mind, I'm only counting the important stuff.

Well, it all started with a continuation of the 2005 American Idol saga. I approached January almost fresh off Hollywood week with stars in my eyes over having made the top 44. Would April make the top 24? Would sheeeee??????

No.

But she would go back to Pennsylvania twice for two funerals only weeks apart (an unforeseen tragedy). My Uncle's parents passed away within weeks of each other. They flew me out to sing the funerals.

A month later, I'd fly back again - this time with Aunt Crazy for her move to Pennsylvania. We all know that a fully grown woman of 58 just has to be babysat rigorously and only April will do.

Yes. 2006 was off to a depressing start. The first three months featured rejection, 2 funerals, and Aunt Crazy business (we won't even go into the packing/garage sales/temper tantrums I suffered through).

When March came, it seemed things would turn around. I was contacted by New Line ot audition for Tracy Turnblad in the new movie musical of Hairspray (I still sigh over that one). Unbeknownst to me, Paula Abdul (sweetheart that she is) sent them a tape of me. I got close, but it didn't work out (too old, too tall and, really, I wasn't the perky embodiment of Tracy). I remain grateful to Ms. Abdul, however, for helping an unknown big girl out when she really didn't have to.

I met my agent at the audition, however. After auditioning me, she signed me on.

I couldn't, however, do much at first while still tied by Idol's contract (I really couldn't do anything without their permission. Not complaining. Just the way it is). So I cooled my heels and did data entry at my uncle's law firm for a bit.

Around June, I did that thing I never said I'd ever do ever ever ever never never again.

That's right. I went back to waitressing graveyard. I saw it as the only way to make money while keeping my days free should my agent get me an audition.

In July, I got an audition for a supporting role in an indie film called Disfigured (2008 release as of now). Idol let me do it and I did it.

Nothing much happened till October. That was when I got my first commercial. It was for TBS (to use the footage repeatedly to promote whatever they feel like promoting over the next 2 years). I took 2500 for the day's work, but had to forego residuals. I'm cool with it.

There was more nothing.

Then came 2007. I got a guest role on a new sitcom (premiering on TBS this July), The Bill Engvall Show. Great experience, friendly cast, hope they bring me back (though I doubt it- not being negative. I'm just feeling it was a one-timer).

Things were slow after till I got a call to read for a lead in another new sitcom (FUGLY, CBS). I got a callback, but the part went to Marissa Jaret Winokur (sigh, again). I'm sure she'll rock.

This week, I go for a part on USA's The 4400. In the meantime, I will attempt to have a personal life so this blog stops being just a record of my audition wins and (mostly) losses.

There.

As for the present?

Today, I caught up on my shows (SCRUBS killed Laverne? Why???), I got my uncle's Honda washed, and I attempted to do my taxes before freaking out (God damned Turbo Tax!!!!) and filling out an extension instead.

Then I came here and posted a blog.

I am astoundingly boring.

prev = next