2003-05-26

I can't stand the rain

So, the Denny's people are trying to get me to stay, seriously. They offered me "manager." I would have been flattered if "manager" meant anything. Basically, they pick someone with no kids and no life who can work ten or twelve hour shifts and stay late and cover other people and, basically, hand their life to Denny's. And, for their trouble, they get 25 cents more an hour and a set of keys to the stock areas. Oh, joy. Oh, rapture. Oh, how I want away from this scary place. Apparently, this particular Denny's has trouble finding people who aren't sneaking off to their vans to smoke up or sneaking to the attached smoky pub to meet "eligible" (read: old and drunkardly) men (as the last two managers did). Sorry, Denny's. I'm out. The only way I'd be back in is if I couldn't find any- and I mean ANY- other job after my children's theater gig (read: vacation to Philly) is over.

Speaking of the big lie. People keep asking details about it. I'm amazed that I'm such a good liar so far. Yay me. All those acting classes have paid off. And my father said "that acting bull" wouldn't pay off. Oh, yeah? Who successfully lied to get out of her job at Denny's? Take it, Pops! (Fine! I'm pathetic! Whatever!)

Did some extra work on American Dreams the other day. The call was at 6:30 but, being subconsciously rebellious, I didn't wake up till 7:30. It also didn't help that I live eight million miles from LA. But it really wasn't my fault- I blame it all on the Discovery channel. See, I was flipping channels when this girl started talking about how she could see dead people. Being a paranormal junkie, I was hooked right then and I couldn't stop watching. Then I was like, whoa- it's getting really late and I have to get up at 4 am. So I started recording it to watch later and muted it and turned away. Then it hooks me again. Then it hooked me some more. Soon I was sitting up and eating pretzels and going outside to smoke on breaks (and getting seriously creeped out by the dark back yard). And it was 2 am when it ended and then... (wait for it) I was too freaked out to sleep. Seriously, world. Watch this thing. It scared the bejesus out of me. It was called a "haunting in Atlanta" or something. I'm going to look this up and post it tomorrow (though I probably won't) so you can all tune in and not sleep and be three hours late for your call and have to get rushed through hair and makeup and have to stay late and run through the rain.

On the upside, they did my hair so cutishly.

On the downside, I was practically invisible and had to run back and forth through the fake rain they dumped on us (And it was nothing like real rain. It was some sprayer on top of the building that felt more like they were just dumping buckets of cold water on us. I still can't feel my feet. I am wringing out my shoes right now).

But, by the time there were only seven left, we got to go into the forbidden studio area and have pizza and they have this godly cappucino machine that spews yummy, sugary stuff and I want to marry it.

But I had to sit around with cruelly sarcastic WASPY guy and awkward middle-aged man.

And Wardrobe Lady so knows me now and was really nice today

But evil AD kept picking on me.

But, hey- I connected Busta Rhymes and Katherine Hepburn.

But now I know what the "real actors" get from craft services. I know what we're missing.

But Farmer Ted was not there. Yay!

But Faydrah and Di left early.

I could go on all night, but I better get into bed before I start thinking about the evil faceless guy from that show again (Dammit!- too late).

prev = next