2003-06-01

Are X-Philes sexier than Trekkies?

Only three days left till Happy, Fun, Smokery Vacay Time (brought to you by The Big Lie TM) commences. Wheeee!

Tomorrow is my last day at The Scariest Denny's Ever to be Vandalized by Skinheads. And (friggin push-over that I am) I agreed to work a double. I should be sleeping right now, considering I'm waking up at six. But I never do what I order myself to. I think I should nip me in the bud sometimes.

I didn't get anything done that I wanted today. I was going to polish the wood floors and spot clean the rugs. All I ended up doing was looking up X-Files movie rumors on the internet. Man. I love me some X-files, but I wish I'd never gotten into it. See, I'm obsessive about entertainment in ways people should only be about religion or righteous political causes. The energy I spend on entertainment - even X-Files alone- could build towns in under-developed countries. And my obsession with this particular show frightens me.

Usually, I get all into something, watch it eighty times over a week, read behind the scenes stuff about it, look up fan fiction on it (I said it out loud again, didn't I?), then talk about it till my friends/ family/ coworkers/ total strangers want to shove broken glass down my throat and permanently damge my vocal chords. I've gotten over these movie/ show/ miniseries crushes before- or at least found new things to obsess over. I got through Pride and Prejudice, Bridget Jones, Moulin Rouge, all Sondheim musicals, Hellraiser, and am still working through Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings.

But X-files has taken over my life. Everything brings it to mind. This is worse than that year when everything anyone said made me think of Ralph Wiggum (causing me to snort and say,"sorry, just... nevermind" about ten times a day). All things are X, man. I was in Walmart and someone said "CSM, pick up on line two" and I started envisioning an embittered Cancer Man, madly chewing nicorette and clearance marking socks. All relationships are futile. Because we haven't worked together through seven years of comraderie and smoldering sexual tension.

I am a woman obsessed. I console myself with the fact that it's a TV show, not a miniseries or movie. I haevn't gotten through all the possible DVDs yet, so I don't have closure. So when season 9 comes out, around next year, I will be free. FREE! In the meantime, is it really THAT pathetic? I mean X-Philes are at least sexier than Trekkies or D&D gamers, right? RIGHT? ... Oh, shut up.

prev = next