2003-06-02

Ignore me. I'm sleeping.

Unfortunately, I worked a double shift today (my last) at Scary Denny's. It was a wierd day, sort of dream-like. I felt like I had no control over anything, like I was sleepwalking through it. But, considering how little sleep I was operating with, I could have been doing just that.

I woke up late, I got in late, and I tripped over my own feet while carrying the tray a record eight times (Thankfully, never spilling the contents and getting sued). There's this wierd lady that works there. She's from New York and she talks- a lot. Like, more than I do. She thinks, since we're both east-coasters, we have some sort of affinity, so she spills her life's story to me on a regular basis in a patter-like monologue filled with mumbles and dropped words. I think she may be insane. She talks to you while she's walking away and comes right back to the conversation five minutes later as if it never ended. Today, we were talking and she mumbled half the conversation into her shirt. I couldn't make out what she was talking about. Usually her patter needs no input to stay alive, so I kept nodding and making sympathetic noises. Then she asked me if it was "wrong to want that." I had no idea what "that" was or why it would be wrong, so I just said, "Oh, you know- to each his own." She looked at me like I was a nut. I tried to find a better platitude, trying out, "Well, it's all relative, you know... Um... I'm not one to judge... Um... Hey! I'm gonna go for a smoke." Not sure what the point of all that was, but it did have that unreal, dreamy quality.

Anyhow, went to the mall on my break for the express purpose of buying a pair of jeans or two at the Gap. I don't like the Gap. I don't like the overpriced, nondescript boring clothes I can get for a fourth of the price at Walmart. But I loooooove their jeans. They are so comfortable and they magically minimize my butt. Anyway, all I wanted was a pair of jeans and I kept looking at the map. Apparently, I was right in front of the Gap, but there was only some silk flower store (and huh?). Well, I asked the mall info guy and he said it was gone. And I have no idea where another Gap is here. I'm sure I'll find one in the next two days, but I wanted to buy the jeans that day and now I might never get them because I stupidly wandered into Hot Topic and bought a belt, shoelaces and a Superman shirt for Forty bucks. That's two pairs of clearance jeans. I'm a bad shopper.

Jeez, I apologize for this entire entry. Apparently, I'm asleep.

prev = next