2003-06-04

My Romance Novelist Name

I was talking with my long, lost friend Di online last night. We were discussing a bunch of crap, not the least of which was what my name would be if I could publish the stupid, romance novel I've been playing with. I don't know why I'm writing it. I think it has something to do with my disillusionment with romance. I decided that, since I can't seem to find it, I can join the system that dupes us all into believing it exists (or something). I don�t know. I had fun talking to her and decided to just post that because I�m busy cleaning and packing and don�t have time to think of anything to write.

Me: I hate when people cry over guys they have crushes on not liking them. It was a crush and it didn�t pan out. It�s not like you have six kids and a Labrador and no daddy now. Move on. Nothing is lost.

Me: crying- that's so two years ago

Di: Ya. I was writing in my diary today... (not my online one, but one at home) and I was like.. you know what.. I�m single.... but happy! And its the first time in a long time I have been able to say it out loud.. and I am happy!

Me: me too! I had this epiphany a few weeks ago

Di: lol ya?

Me: I was going over the retro-diaries and Ii was getting so sick of Preteen April whining about love and I realized it was because it doesn't really exist

Me: it's all manipulation and it's never like in the movies

Di: lol Oh gosh. I know, and it never really lasts forever

Me: Then I realized that only one thing would live up to my expectations- being in the movies that duped me all these years� or writing something or some other crap

Me: I have renewed vigor because I need to live on and the only way is through success. Success!!!! It is all that matters--- or something

Di: lol There was this couple walking across the street today and I was trying to drive and I had to wait for them to slowly cross while holding each other as tight as they could and I just had to yell out the window. Get over it soon it won�t last!

Me: If I succeed, I'm taking you with me (you've got moxie, kid)

Di: lol thanks

Di: ditto

Me: we're on the fast rack to success, baby. I can fel it. This is the year

Me: shit- I can't spell tonight

Di: I hope so

Di: did you get the email I sent?

Me: That Wizard of Oz audition? I don't know about Performance Riverside- think the pay is a fuel stipend and I can't afford the distance

Me: but if you get in, I'll come see you and buy you a burger

Di: Oh ya. I live like 5 minutes away

Di: cool~!

Me: yeah, burgers rock

Di: I�m taking dance in college this semester

Me: bad memories lie there for me- but I am an appalling dancer

Di: lol I have never really tried but I had to dance for the audition of Britany and I got it, so I guess I can give it a shot

Di: this class is supposed to introduce the fundamentals of various dances in musical theater

Me: had that kind of class- and the scars

Di: is it hard?

Me: the class is only hard if you have no rhythm- like me

Me: by the way, my novel rocks so hard- got it smoking now- the sexual tension is sizzling- tssss!

Di: Oh ya? have you talked to any publishers about it

Me: waiting till I'm all done, sending it to Avon Romance

Di: thats cool, good luck

Me: I might never finish it, though. I still have two-thirds of a bad screenplay I never finished

Me: what should my name be if it gets published?

Me: Alice Hightower was my first choice, but too British

Di: hmm, you don�t like your name?

Me: I wouldn't be caught dead if people knew I wrote a romance novel

Me: it's my dirty, naughty secret

Di: um.. Autumn Stonewater

Di: lol

Di: Judith Skyline

Di: April Waters

Me: too earthy- my book is more comedic than vital

Me: Jackie Roman!

Me: no

Di: lol

Me: maybe, actually. It has pizazz

Di: Jaqueline Buzwa

Di: lol.. no

Me: too fancy- needs to be average

Di: May Sanders

Me: too old lady

Di: lol

Di: Katelyn McKinny

Di: Beth Sears

Di: I�m no good at this name stuff

Me: Jocelyn Loinfire

Di: lol

Di: Eileen Back

Me: Jo Beth Groinsicle

Di: lol

Di: Kate Hottincock

Di: Leah Shulner

Me: Mary Jo Vagilove

Di: April Jizzabel

Di: lol

Me: May Rimjobbenstein

Di: lol

Me: hee! This is fun!

Di: Jane Climaxabit

Me: Jeri Putinhard

Di: lol

Me: Jane's cousin, Mary Comesoccasionally

Di: Betty Longshlong

Me: I should hope not!

Di: lol

Me: But does she have a brother?

Di: lol ya its Hugh Jass

Me: hee! No, her boyfriend's name is Peter Wideshaft

Di: lol

Me: okay, we are officially ten years old

Di: lol ya

Di: Mary Cunnilingus'o

Me: Bounty O'Cunnilingus

Di: lol

Di: sorry dyslexic for a moment there

Di: got ahead of myself..lol

Me: I'm posting part of this convo in my new blog (not the incriminating bits)

Di: okay

Me: by the way- got a new and better blog- will send you a link

Di: ok

Me: the people there are fun and not so full of preteen angst

Di: lol

Me: i gotta get off- bed- BED!!!

Di: Ima Hardonn

Di: okay okay

Me: Ivana Hardon

Me: this is addictive

Di: I know

Di: Ivana Comealott

Me: me too

Di: haha

Di: Harry Beavers

Me: hee!!!

Di: Anita Hoare

Me: we rock!

Di: Anita longdick

Me: Anita Cockinme

Me: (she's an african writer)

Di: lol ya

Di: Dixon Cox

Me: Penny Forcox

Di: Anit Amanda Bangmee

Di: Ivana Hiscock

Me: Ivana Dicksure-Man

Di: Philip Hiscock� her husband

Di: Haywood Jablome

Me: oldy, but goody

Me: Ivana Fellacio

Di: Ima Fellacio

Me: Conny Lingus

Di: lol i like that one

Me: It's an oldy but goody, like a lot of these

Di: iona dicky

Me: Iona Manscok

Di: Ivan Shagnasty

Di: lol

Di: ivana*

Di: Constance Humper

Me: Constance Lee- Humpington

Me: the british cousin

Di: ya

Me: we must stop- must sleep- must wake- must call you tomorrow

Me: I'm posting this convo- we rock

And I posted it. Now I think we're idiots, but we enjoy it. Still didn't come out with a name, though.

prev = next