2003-07-13

Happy Anniversary to you... and a RETRO-DIARY too (#5)... Oh, and I'm a whore.

Happy Anniversary to you, Happy Anniversary to you, Happy Anniversary, Dear Godzillas in the Mist (version 2.0000000000)! Happy Anniversary to youuuuuuuuuuuuuu!

So, it's not exactly an anniversary, but it is my 25th entry. I've been house sitting and doing some extra work. Just went in for a makeup test for this Deadwood show on HBO. And I'm a whore!!! An "Old West Bella Whore." It's non-speaking and I think being overweight was actually an advantage here. And with such a huge cast, I'll never get a SAG voucher, but I'm a whore! I hope my worl will be a beacon of light for whores everywhere. I knew all my dreams would lead me to this moment- whore! Just imagine...

In other news, still unemployed on the regular job front. I wish extra work could pay the bills, but there isn't enough of it to go around- at least not for those unfortunate enough to be over a size four (obese by Hollywood standards). So I really need some crap job, but I have no idea what I'm qualified to do. I have BA in Theater and I have no job skills (Shut up, Dad).

Anyway, since Current April is stewing in worry and self-doubt, we should see what Preteen April is up to. Ah, yes...

RETRO-DIARY#5- and some other things

Preteen April is fresh-faced and ready for eighth grade. Let's go back, shall we? Put on your early TLC album, throw on a half peasant blouse, and let the words take you back to:

8-21-91

I still love Kevin. I'm going to live here for another little while. Jaye might possibly be in charge of us kids [she was some lady my aunt knew whose building was closing down and she suggested Jaye live with us like a nanny- we'd always had disastrous experiences with nannies, but that didn't seem to prompt us to run - RUN!]. And live here with her son, Benj [a skinny and ugly and annoying little twig of a guy who talks with the blaccent - except when he's whining to mom and suddenly he's white again- it's one thing if you have an accent from where you're raised, but he was raised in middle-class white suburbia, so him affecting ebonics is as stupid as me constantly pretending I'm in the cast of "Upstairs, Downstairs"- and even that I only do every other Thursday. Oh, yeah. The diary]. I started my diet today. I'm going to try for no snacks whatsoever. I have to start taking vitamins. I'm always tired and yawning. I also need more sleep [And, twelve years later, still struggling with this same crap]. I'm going to get my uniform tomorrow. I feel a little excited but I still miss Kevin. Even if he's a mean jerk. I gotta go.

Sincerely,

April

So, I guess I sincerely had to go. I seriously was excited about the whole school thing. I'd been in California for a year. I'd sang at this disneyland competition. I was not wearing my hair with the bangs spiked up (which was more than I could say for the cretins in PA). I really thought I had it together and would be a new woman and suddenly popular. Preteen fantasies are sad. I'm feeling sorry for Preteen April. I know what's coming in eighth grade. Chin up, girl! College is coming, too!

prev = next