2004-04-27

Sexy Sickness at Second City

Had a show with my Second City class yesterday. It was freakin awesome. I did one scene where I used my WASPish, rich Character, Lillian. I had always played her as rich and insensitive, above it all. But that got boring. I thought it would be much more fun to be completely amoral as well. So I had her attempt to seduce her fourteen-year-old nephew, played by Randy. I'm not saying that incest and pedophilia are inherently funny. I was just pushing the envelope, getting out of the safe side I seem to play on so often. I often play optimistic, low status characters who are basically good people. I wanted to be a horrible, sultry, taboo woman- the farthest thing from me. I'm so gosh darn square sometimes.

I was worried I was pushing it too far and that the audience would be horrified. But they ate it up. If it had played between a young girl and an older uncle, it would probably have been more creepy. Boys, at that age, are sexually confused. What if your aunt was hot and tried to seduce you? How confusing. How wrong. How taboo.

It can also play as the worst kind of nightmare for those who have had awful sex dreams about relatives. I once had a terrible one about an uncle. My brother had one about an aunt. And my cousin has had multiple ones about practically everyone. They leave you with the worst sort of feeling when you wake up. You feel unclean, like you must be a pervo. But I have no sort of hang-ups about what I dream. I never thought my dreams were significant or meaningful. You brain is throwing out the trash. I know it's just your subconscience defragmenting itself, in a way. It's probably counterproductive to remember what you dream. At the age when you begin developing, sex will creep into every one of your dreams, for better or worse. Because that's where your body and mind are.

Anyhow, the scen went well. And I did another where me and the two girls, Diedre and Neeley, were old ladies out clubbing. Got some good laughs as well. And there was another where Diedre and I are lesbians who go to some sort of rainmaker-esque man to get "fixed" so I can bring myself to have sex with a man and get pregnant. The premise was that I refuse to be inseminated as I don't want unnatural sorts of devices in my body, nothing that's not organic. But I have the same aversion to men as I have toward brussel sprouts. Drew (the lebian fixer) did this awful dance to make me want men. I almost broke the entire time he did it.

The entire show worked. We just reimprovised scenes and characters we were developing in class and it went over just as we wanted.

prev = next