2004-10-07

And an underwhelming week was had by all.

In case everyone was wondering, Madeleine is out of the hospital and doing just fine. She was in three days with what they thought was pneumonia, but turned out to be athsma.Yes, Maddy is now autistic and with athsma. This means she has to be subdued and given inhalers twice daily from now on. It takes three people to do this as Maddy is damn strong and stubborn for a six year old. So no one involved is very happy at the prospect of dealing woth this for the next two to ten years till she gets used to it. Poor Maddy. Poor us.

I did find one thing that worked with her. When she's really pissed off and trying to hit or grab valuable objects from you in order to smash them, there's a way to calm her. You take the arm you're holding and spin her. She gets so deloghted at being twirled that she forgets to be angry. It really is amazing seeing how that girl operates sometimes. Sometimes I think, after I'm rich anf famous and all that fakey fantasy stuff that won't happen, I'd like to open a theater camp for special needs children. I've searches the web and there aren't many. That will be my pet cause if I ever get my own sitcom. Or maybe I just want to see Maddy in full ballerina gear. She'd be just adorable.

Damn it. I want kids. Must be that pesky ovulation again.

Evil T, the one who's sworn off romance for life in favor of either world domination or being the next Julie Taymour, has found loooove. She met this guy online and they talked, then dated, and are now practically picking china patterns. I've been prematurely asked to be Maid of Honor. This is exciting as I've sung so many weddings, but never been in the wedding party. Evil T has promised me a sumptous deep blue gown with an empire waist. That's good- because I have seen girls stuck with apricot and mauve.

The Underwhelming Engineer is in Michigan right now. He called me from there a few times, according to my machine. He once again forgot to leave his number so I still don't have it and have no way to politely call him back. This is okay by me. I kind of wish he decides to stay in Michigan. He said he was coming out here to test the waters as he was offered an opportunity to do his job out here instead. I don't know if I actually like him. I have an okay time with him, but always feel reluctant to go have these okay times.

My Grandpop and uncles think I should be thrilled that a guy with a great job wants to date me. They keep saying I should drop this comedy nonsense and get married. First, I've only known him a week. I'm not attaching those kind of hopes to him. Second, I just don't feel excited about him at all. After three dates and numerous phone calls, I still don't feel like I want to pursue anything with him. If he decided to move here, I may have to be up front and tell him that. I'd feel bad using him just to have the male attention.

We just don't click. How could we? I mentioned Monty Python and he said, "Oh yeah. He's pretty funny." Oh, boy.

prev = next