2006-01-25

Why this only encourages me...

In case this entry ever sees the light of day when my diary is unlocked...

So, if this entry is out there, then the fact that I did not make the top 24 is known. But, hey! I made the freakin top 44! That's effin fabulous and, truthfully, more than I thought I'd get out of the show.

Why did I audition?

Because I love the show, because they raised the age limit, and because I was just dying to see what the three judges would say to me. Getting in front of them was a surreal fangirl fantasy times eight... million. And getting through to Hollywood? Forget about it.

Truth be told, I've been out of the loop for a while- as far as my struggling entertainer dreams. Once Uncle Joe got sicker and Grandpop passed, I just let these things fall by the wayside. I couldn't focus energy on the auditions and mass mailings with so much going on.

So what did I do? I wrote two trashy romance novels. They cheered me up (and I still hold out hope for their eventual publication- if they could make me feel better with what was going on, maybe some other stressed-out, lovelorn girl will find solace). I let those be my release and stopped with the improv and whatnot. They were easy to squeeze into my schedule (and Grandpop got such a kick out of locking me out back as I typed away on the laptop).

In fact, I was starting to resign myself to a life where I'm not a performer (except for the occasional karaoke outing). Then I decided to try out in San Francisco. I carefully planned my trip and took that long drive. I took lots of advice from everyone and tried to dress a bit trendier and sing something pretty and understated. But these things didn't really work for me. I didn't get past round one (forget the three judges).

I should have known. Me and trendy have never mixed. Because I always feel best about myself if I'm tricked out like a taxi-dancer circa 1939.

So I decided to give it one more try. I skipped the dirve and booked a greyhound to Denver. I thought I'd be ready and refreshed after letting someone else do the driving. Wrong move, in a way. 23 hours on a bus is not and will never be refreshing. But I did it. And I did a song I liked (with cheesy choreography, no less) and wore what I wanted.

And look what happened...

Well, the critics didn't all rave after my first airing- that's for sure. I've been called a jelly-swigger (it was honey and it really does coat a raw throat). I've been accused of taking a cue from sound of music and fashioning a dress from curtains (hey, I liked my dress, but-as I said-I've never been trendy).

Well, Hollywood hasn't aired yet. Let's see if people change their tune, then. Might not happen, but a girl can hope. I have to say, knowing I'm not top 24 takes some of the excitement of watching the show away for me. When they aired Denver, I still had stars in my eyes- visions of a Mama Cass tribute album and talk shows.

But this experience hasn't brought me down. On the contrary- It's only encouraged me. I'm not looking for some quiet life out of the spotlight writing trashy novels (well, maybe on the side). I'm a performer. And maybe I'm not going to be super famous and loved by millions. But I'll work. I'll audition. I will go back to theater. And I'll work my way up from there. So the kid's down, but not out.

prev = next