2006-04-22

Pride and Prejudice... six hours is never enough

Well, my blah attitude goes on.

There aren't any good auditions till next week, really. So I've not much to look forward to. The rush of creativity on trashy novel #3 has hit a road block (something I did wrong. Some plot point that doesn't fit. Will take some time till it hits me where I hit the block. I am having a tough time getting any sexual tension going between my hero and heroine. It's possible the characters just aren't right for each other. I hope that's not the case. I'd need a big old rewrite which I don't have the stamina for as this is my thrid big stab at this novel... Yikes. That was a long side note).

Anyway, as I'm in the doldrums, both creatively and with the showbiz wait-out, I've turned to my two greatest comforts in my spare time. An overdose of Regency period romance novels, which prompted a marathon of Pride and Prejudice (The good, six-hour miniseries one). I've read about fifteen books this week (some from the library, some rereads) and bemoaned the fact that I don't have any excuse for lounging in drawing rooms wearing empire-waist dresses.

Pride and Prejudice count is at three viewings. It may not seem like a lot. But it was a miniseries. After watching the new movie version, it was a balm of sorts. I didn't exactly hate the new movie. I went into my watching of it expecting that it wouldn't be as good as the BBC miniseries. It wasn't. Whereas Brenda Blethyn is a great actress who I adore, I preferred Alsion Steadman's hyper, twittery Mrs. Bennet. In fact, just take every character and assume that the miniseries version of that person was better. Because it's true.

The movie's Darcy (what's his face) was just boring to me. He's not an actor, like Colin Firth (drool), who can act without a word or without much noticeable facial movement. I'm serious. Colin's eyes when he looks at Jennifer Ehle in the miniseries, they just flash or melt or smolder. I get giddy thinking about it. This new Darcy was just bland and stiff.

Keira Knightley is a good actress. But her more shrill version of Lizzie just didn't get me. I liked Jennifer Ehle's tight control. It made sense with the times for me.

One thing I'll give the movie is that their Jane was a bit more believable, on a purely superficial level.

BBC's Jane (forget the name) was pretty in her way, but to say that she's the prettiest above Lizzie didn't fly. But she did a great job with the character's subdued emotions.

The worst thing about the movie was, surprisingly, Jenna Malone. I like her. I think she's a good actress. But she stunk it up as Lydia. She's not made for period pieces. Her voice and accent sounded very put-on. It was annoying. And while Julia Sawalha's Lydia in the BBC version was annoying in exactly the way Lydia's supposed to be, Jenna's was just plain anyoing. I cringed for her every time.

So... yeah. Watch the new P&P if you've never seen it. It's not all bad. But, when you're done, grab the 1996 BBC/A&E hybrid and see it how it's supposed to be. I think Jane Austen herself would stamp that one with her approval.

prev = next